The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

Warning: The following content may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk. You have been warned. It doesn’t really spoil the Lizzie Bennet Diaries series though, in case you’re wondering. I mean, if you’ve read Pride and Prejudice, you know roughly what’s going to happen in the web series anyway.

lydia-book-cover-394x600Title: The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet

Authors: Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

Based on the Emmy-award winning web series, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Summary: Lydia Bennet was a normal twenty-year-old – plotting ways to skip classes, find the perfect fake ID, and escape her sleepy hometown in Northern California as quickly as possible. But when her older sister, Lizzie, started a wildly popular vlog that turned herself and her sisters into Internet sensations, Lydia had to learn the hard way that not all attention is good. After her ex-boyfriend betrays her trust and destroys her reputation online, Lydia must learn to navigate the newly fragile and judgemental world.

A stand-alone novel based on the Emmy Award­-winning “genius” (The Guardian) web series, The Lizzie Bennet DiariesThe Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet reveals for the first time what happened to the beloved youngest Bennet sister and the rest of the family after Lizzie’s camera stopped rolling. Hilarious texts, essays and tweets throughout the novel bring Lydia’s distinctive and endearing voice to life in this lively, heartwarming novel that reimagines one of Jane Austen’s most memorable characters for the digital age.

Quotes: I gave up my voice for someone I hardly knew.

Thoughts and Review: Wow. Just wow.

This book is just absolutely sensational. And I’m not just saying that because I’m absolutely in love with the web series. As suggested in the summary, it picks up after the Lizzie Bennet Diaries (LBD). Since Lydia’s story was left quite open ended with the vague reassurance that she’s going to be okay, it’s really great seeing how she handles the repercussions of her reckless actions. She’s trying to cope with the hurt and betrayal she feels inside and starts to reevaluate her life.

This book follows Lydia as she goes through summer school at her community college to get the extra credits she needs to graduate as well as her time in New York City when she went to visit her sister, Jane. I love how we, as the readers, see both the adorbs Ly-di-ah as well as the person she is inside without the mask, the raw and vulnerable Lydia.

I felt that the authors did a great job at capturing how Lydia – and most people, I suppose, to a certain extent – is lost and confused and tries to suppress it all with a loud and easy going personality but she can still feel the emptiness and hollowness inside her. This may not be what was intended, but it’s how I see Lydia as I read the book.

I love seeing how she grows throughout the book, how to become a better person, to be more thoughtful and wary of people, how she’s opening her heart to trying new things and just finding herself. It’s really inspiring to see her pick herself up after such a great fall.

I suppose I find this book really relatable because I’m also in roughly the same place as her in my life. I may not have experienced as huge a betrayal as her, especially since hers is displayed all over the Internet for everyone to see, I guess, in some ways, I have experienced my own kind of betrayal that left me in a very similar position as her.

I relate to this book on so many personal levels. I make it seem like I know what I’m doing and where I’m going but, in reality, I really don’t. I’m as lost as Lydia is.

Enough of what I think (but this isn’t solely a book review, thus why I added ‘thoughts and review’ so don’t murder me about this). The way the book is written is so light and so easy to follow and I love that it’s not completely written in traditional prose. I love how the authors added the essays that she wrote, among other things. I  just absolutely love everything about the book.

Rating: 10/10 (And, once again, no, I’m not being biased)

Recommended for: Anyone who enjoys Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice (or any other of her books) and any Teen Fiction/Chick Lit novels at all.

Leave a Reply

