Young & Wild & Free

image

The Reckless and the Brave by All Time Low

So, the other day I went out with my friends to celebrate a birthday. And, if I were to be entirely honest, everything is just so chaotic. We were running here and there at the last minute and I was panicking and trying to find alternative ways to solve the issue and everyone remained relatively calm which is kind of ironic considering I barely did any preparations or planning of any sort and I’m just wondering how in the world they can remain calm in the chaos.

Everything did fall into place in the end and I had a rather enjoyable time. We had dinner, went for dessert and made an impromptu trip to the beach at night. Thank gosh it was not a windy night or I would have died from the cold. There was a kid’s playground there and it was empty so we decided to have some fun and play there.

And I was sitting there in the middle of the playground watching my friends fool around and have a great time – we’re all in our late teens and early twenties – and it kind of dawned on me that we were all still so incredibly young and naive and we still have so much time on our hands, so many things to learn, so many things to explore.

In a world that’s moving as fast as this, it’s very easy to just forget that we don’t have to keep up all the time, it’s hard to remember that sometimes we can just stop and smell the flowers and enjoy our youth.

I’m not going to lie and say that that’s what I’ve been doing because, if I’m going to be truthful with myself, I’ve always felt the pressure to move as quickly as everyone, faster even, to always have the upper hand. To work a hundred times harder and faster than my peers so that I can emerge victorious. But you see, life isn’t a competition.

Our lives are meant to be lived and, in a world like ours, it’s very easy to forget that.

A couple of weeks ago, I had a huge mental breakdown and I simply couldn’t keep going anymore. I’ve been holding onto a thread for the past so many years and I can feel my grip loosening, I can feel myself about to fall at any time. And the idea of taking a whole gap year came up and I have been toying with that idea for a while until that night on the beach.

Just seeing everyone enjoy their time. The full impact of the common saying ‘young and wild and free’ really hit me. We’re all still so young. I still have my whole life ahead of me. What’s the harm with taking a year of to focus on myself and to heal myself (for those of you who don’t know, I suffer from anxiety and depression and it’s progressively getting worse and worse over the years).

I guess what I’m trying to say here is that we’re all still young, you know? There’s no harm enjoying life for all that it is and not for all that we are expected to do. Sometimes, we just have to be selfish and improve ourselves first before trying to please another person.

“We’ll never be as young as we are now.” – Never Be, 5 Seconds of Summer

So embrace it. Embrace your youth. Enjoy it. Don’t let it go to waste.

Love,

Angelyn

Leave a Reply

