Being Heard

Dedicated to Sabrina

249438819-tumblr_m79ddndigp1qdfq9go1_500

So I was having a short conversation with my good friend yesterday. She was feeling a bit down and I was trying my best to cheer her up and somehow, the conversation turned to having a voice.

You see, we both love singing but we’re too shy, but we both believe that we should try, you know? She was saying how she wants to have a voice but, more than that, she wants to be heard.

And I’d be lying if I said I disagreed.

More than anything, I want to be heard. I want to speak what’s in my mind and I want people to understand where I’m coming from. I want to pursue my dreams and do what I love and stand up for what I believe in without being dragged back down by a judgemental world.

I feel like our world, society at large, is too cold, too cruel. All they do is step all over people and make them feel small, simply because they aren’t daring enough to do what they love. They say that we will never ‘make it’ simply because they themselves aren’t daring enough to pursue their own dreams.

I don’t want to cower in fear but I do. I mean, can you truly look me in the eye and say you aren’t terrified of what the world will say about you?

But I do believe that, no matter how hard it is, we should still try to speak up for what we believe in, for the things we want to fight for. I’m sure everyone has a dream, a passion. Everyone has an ideolgy, have things they believe in and no, I don’t mean just religion.

And you don’t have to stand on a table in the middle of your school canteen and tell the whole student body. I mean, of course it would be great to speak up and be heard. To truly be heard by society and be accepted, you know?

But even if you don’t scream it to the world, speak up. Don’t keep quiet. Don’t let that fire in you die down. Press on. Remember to stand your ground and fight for what keep you grounded.

Speak up.

Love,

Angelyn

Leave a Reply

