Now You See Me

now-you-see-me-poster

For the record, I watched this movie when it came out about 3 years ago. I’m not that late on movies, being the movie lover that I am. Haha.

Warning: The following content may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk. You have been warned.

Title: Now You See Me

Release Date: 31 May 2013

Rating: PG-13

Genre: Crime, Mystery, Thriller

Director: Louis Leterrier

Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson, Mélanie Laurent, Isla Fisher, Dave Franco, Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman

Running Time: 115 minutes

Summary: Four magicians each answer a mysterious summons to an obscure address with secrets inside. A year later, they are the Four Horsemen, big time stage illusionists who climax their sold out Las Vegas show with a bank apparently robbed for real. This puts agents Dylan Rhodes of the FBI and Alma Dray of Interpol on the case to find out how they did it. However, this mystery proves difficult to solve even with the insights of the professional illusion exposer, Thaddeus Bradley. What follows is a bizarre investigation where nothing is what it seems with illusions, dark secrets and hidden agendas galore as all involved are reminded of a great truth in this puzzle: the closer you look, the less you see.

Quotes: The closer you think you are, the less you’ll actually see.

Thoughts and Review: So, I was thinking about the movies coming out in the next few weeks and I remembered that Now You See Me 2 is coming out soon. So, I decided to rewatch the first movie as it has been a while since I’ve last seen it and I’d like the plot of the movie to be fresh in my head as I watch it’s sequel.

And wow. I forgot how good this movie is.

I remember rewatching this movie so many times when it first came out in 2013 and being so completely obsessed with it. That love for this movie has been rekindled and I remember why it’s so good again. I’m just so in love with the world this movie has built. I love the characters so much, I love the plot. I love the action and the plot twists and the sleight of hand and the illusions. I just love everything about this movie.

Let me give you some examples. The main character, J. Daniel Atlas (Eisenberg) is just so incredible. I love the way he carries himself and the way he thinks. The way he tricks people. Yes, I’ll admit, he can be arrogant sometimes but, I mean, he’s incredibly smart and he knows it and everyone around him knows it. I love his tricks and the way he talks (do I sound creepy yet). I just love this character that Eisenberg has brought to life.

And then there’s Henley Reeves (Fisher) who is the only female in the Four Horsemen and she’s also incredible. She’s also super smart and alert and she’s so confident and independent and strong. I love how she’s so comfortable in her skin and just how Fisher played the character.

Yes, my favourite characters are Atlas and Henley and I ship them so much.

Merritt McKinney (Harrelson) and Jack Wilder (Franco) are also such smart people. I just- I want their brains. I want to know how they think. I get that they used their talent for heists BUT STILL. So, so smart. So meticulous. I’m just so in awe with how they pull off their stunts. How they’re always one step ahead.

Just so in love with this movie. I could go on and on about everything I love about it but I’m probably boring you out already. I guess I’m just obsessed – I always have been, to be honest – with sleight of hand and illusions. It’s just- I don’t know. It just sort of takes my breath away at how easily it is to be tricked and misdirected. Gonna stop here before this becomes a super deep post.

Just an incredible movie. Proud to say that this is one of my all time favourite movies.

Rating: 10/10

Recommended for: Anyone who loves a good illusion, a great action movie or a movie that makes you think.

Leave a Reply

