Stereotypes & Discrimination

tumblr_mj6girxjyv1qcv7buo1_500

You know what gets on my nerves every time? That’s right. Stereotyping.

It’s so annoying to see people stereotype others simply because of their gender or race or skin colour or religion.

Guys, people are more than just how they look or what God they believe in or what they like to do. Have you ever thought about the iceberg of a story inside every single person? Everyone has their own story. Everyone has their own personality. Everyone is unique. Everyone should have the chance to speak for themselves first before the judging begins.

I’m not going to lie and say that I don’t stereotype myself, because I do, and it’s only natural, but I do my best to push it away. I do my best to get to know everyone because everyone deserves it.

It’s the same way with everyone. I don’t know about you, but I get very annoyed when people stereotype me. Just because I’m an Asian doesn’t mean I know how to speak Chinese which I should really learn but I’m absolutely horrible at. Just because I’m a girl doesn’t mean I’m weak. Just because I love books doesn’t mean I am boring.

You don’t understand how much all this frustrates me.

Stereotyping and discrimination angers me to no end and I wish society could see how much more harm than good it’s doing to the world. I wish stereotyping and discrimination could end. It’ll make the world a much, much better place.

There’s more to a person than what meets the eye.

I hope you remember that the next time you meet someone new.

Love,

Angelyn

Leave a Reply

