TATINOF RADelaide

Disclaimer: This is my spoiler-free experience of TATINOF because I want everyone to get the full immersion when you either watch TATINOF live or the YouTube Red video.

tumblr_o63hqx82051ufknooo6_1280.jpg

So I had the amazing opportunity to attend TATINOF in Adelaide on 19 August 2016. This is one of the times I’m so glad I decided to come to Australia straight after high school. I managed to get VIP tickets, which is incredible as I get to meet them and get amazing seats, and, in my opinion, worth every cent.

I reached the venue at around 2:10pm, which was way too early. Meet and Greet only started at 4pm and the venue wasn’t even opened yet! I waited outside for my friend to arrive (it was ridiculously cold) and when they did, we went to grab something from the convenience store nearby before going back to the theatre.

IMG_6494

They let us in at around 3:10pm. The moment you walk in, you can see a table set up for 7 Second Challenges and Crafty Corner Creations.

IMG5
I unfortunately forgot to take a picture of the Craft Corner sorry guys

We went in and chilled in the lobby for a while before security asked us to form a line. We were lucky to get into the queue early enough and were one of the first people in line.

By this point, I was starting to get slightly nervous, but at the same time not really as the idea that I was actually going to meet them had not sunk in yet and, honestly, it still hasn’t sunk in. It feels so surreal. I mean, how can you comprehend meeting your idols whom you’ve only watched through a screen and look up to so much? Exactly. You can’t.

Someone then shouted that Dan took over the Pokèmon Go gym at the venue so I went to check and he actually did! I was laughing so hard. Here is photographic evidence.

IMG_6495.jpg

Someone in Team Valor then beat him and overtook his gym and I was laughing so hard.

The next half an hour was spent waiting in anticipation and nerves. I was so terrified to check the time and so my friends and I just stood rather quietly at the side. I don’t understand how anyone else was not freaking out!

Dan and Phil then walked in and everyone was screaming and probably freaking out. Unfortunately for us, we were pushed to the back of the crowd and everyone else was so tall so we couldn’t see them and we weren’t in Dan’s selfie. It was kind of ironic for me because my friends (as in, all my friends in general) had always complained about my height and being too tall but at that moment, I felt so short. I guess I know how they feel now.

IMG1
Can you see them?

So then they walked into the meet and greet place and security let fans go in batches of 10. We were the first of the second batch and by this point, I was super calm and chill on the outside but was blanking out and super nervous on the inside.

Before I continue, I’m going to warn you guys. I was super awkward and my meet and greet experience was honestly quite awkward because I am socially inept. Sorry about that.

Before my turn, the lady in the front took my letter to them and checked the TABINOF page I wanted them to sign and everything.

And then, it was my turn.

At this point, everything just felt like a blur but at the same time, like time had slowed down.

I turned the corner and was confronted by a huge Dan Howell. He said hi and extended his arms and I hugged him. He’s so big and I felt kinda awkward hugging him but it was so good. I then hugged Phil and he’s equally as huge but he’s so adorable, more so in real life.

Dan then asked if I wanted to them to sign my book, to which I replied “yes please” and so I opened the page for them to sign and Dan took it from me and, I’m not even sure how this is physically possible, but both of them signed the same page at the same time. Phil did some really awkward manoever to sign it and it was so captivating to watch them sign it.

IMG_6550

Dan asked how I was doing and I said, very rambly and stuttering-y, “I’m good now that you’re– I’ve met you”. And then they awwed and laughed and I swear I died. Dan asked if I wanted them to take a picture and I said yes please again and gave him my camera.

Then, as we were posing, I blurted out “Dan, please don’t take a blurry selfie” and he laughed. His hands were shaking when taking the picture and I felt so bad for asking him to use a camera instead of a phone but he was so cute and so was Phil.

Update: Something else came back to me yes, I’m remembering bits here and there and piecing them together. When we were posing, Phil put his hand on my arm and he was so close to me and it honestly felt really cuddly and nice and I basically died.

He then gave me back my camera and they both said thank you and to enjoy the show and I said good luck and walked away. Security cut off the gold band they gave all VIPs and I received my VIP tote bag.

Collage2
The super snazzy VIP tote bag
IMG_6527.jpg
The stuff inside. The white wristband isn’t in the VIP pack but the reason I put it here was to show you the other side of the VIP wristband

Most people say that Dan is the awkward one but I feel like he was more comfortable. Dan is the more chatty one and Phil just stood at the side awkwardly and quietly and super cutely. I honestly wish I said more but I was freaking out so much and I completely blanked out and forgot how to speak. I probably died so many times in that one minute (or less, probably) when I was with them.

Here’s a picture of us!

IMG_6496(1).jpg

Remember how I told Dan not to take a blurry selfie? Alas he did! Thanks Dan.

I love how Phil bent down to reach my level. They’re way too tall for their own good. But they’re so cute! Also, Dan is actually the tannest out of the three of us. I’m way too pale haha.

I can’t wait to meet them again. Now that the first meeting nerves are over, I’ll probably be able to carry a proper conversation with them.

My friends and I just hung around the area trying to calm down from meeting the actual Dan and Phil. We talked to some cool people as well and walked around for a bit. We signed the guest book and I bought some merch.

Collage3

Collage4

At around 5:50pm, Dan and Phil walked outside to say goodbye to all of us. Dan then proceeded to argue with the fan who overtook the gym, saying he will “take it back”. I still don’t know if he managed to but I really want to know. It was super dorky and cute tbh. They then went backstage and next up, the show itself!

IMG2
I could see them better now because we were standing in front

We bought some snacks and began to line up to go into the theatre. The doors opened at around 6:10pm and we went in. And oh my gosh, the venue is absolutely beautiful.

We walked in and their pre show playlist was playing. The song that was on when we walked in was Pity Party by Melanie Martinez. The set is also super gorgeous.

IMG7.jpg
The venue from my seat. It isn’t even zoomed in. And I couldn’t get the whole stage in shot. That was how front I was.

My seat was B23 and it’s the second row (duh) right in the centre. It’s such a great seat and I couldn’t be more satisifed.

The stage was foggy and the set has so many easy to miss details but it’s so them and it’s so good. I won’t spoil anything but I can say that it’s super clear how much effort they put into the show and it warms my heart so much.

The pre-show playlist was playing and everyone was singing their lungs out and having a great time, me included. The show hasn’t even started and I was already so happy. Everyone was so in sync and so loud, especially during Breaking Free from High School Musical, Toxic by Britney Spears and Welcome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance. I love the atmostphere and it was so fun.

IMG8
The venue is absolutely gorgeous honestly would love to perform here someday

Here’s the playlist. Or, at least, what I can remember, and it’s not in order either.

Adelaide Pre-Show Playlist

  1. Victorious – Panic! At The Disco
  2. Welcome to the Black Parade – My Chemical Romance
  3. Breaking Free – Troy & Gabriella
  4. Toxic – Britney Spears
  5. Pity Party – Melanie Martinez
  6. Tear In My Heart – Twenty One Pilots
  7. Hotline Bling – Drake
  8. My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark – Fall Out Boy
  9. YOUTH – Troye Sivan
  10. Jealous – Nick Jonas (Update: Someone reminded me that this played as well)

And yes, All Star played (what would a Dan and Phil show be without it), but I won’t say when.

Soon, the stage darkened and the show started.

The whole show lasted for about 1 hour 30 minutes and it was honestly the best time I had. I laughed so hard and screamed so much and probably face palmed way too many times. TATINOF is the perfect summary of danisnotonfire and AmazingPhil.

Once again, you can see how much thought and effort they put into the show, especially in the details. There were also so many pop culture references and probably quite a few references, likely from viral videos, that I didn’t recognise.

Needless to say, it was awesome and I recommend it to anyone and everyone who enjoys watching Dan and Phil videos.

All too soon, the show came to an end and they said goodbye.

IMG6
Goodbye Dan and Phil! I’ll see you again soon.
IMG_6508
An awkward selfie of me in a flower crown

I was so tempted to catch the late show but decided to treasure the show I went to in my heart forever and wait for the YouTube Red video to rewatch it.

It was such an amazing experience and I won’t trade it for the world. I really hope they bring TATINOF everywhere so everyone will have to opportunity to see them live (TATINOF Asia pleaaase) because it’s just that good. If they do come to Asia, I don’t care how expensive it is, I’m going for VIP again.

It still hasn’t sunk in that I’ve met them and that I’ve watched TATINOF but nevertheless, it was amazing. I wish I could watch it with my close friends but, unfortunately, they’re all not in Adelaide.

As I said earlier, the tickets were worth every single cent and I would do it all again if I could.

Bye Dan and Phil! I hope you had a great time in Adelaide, and an awesome TATINOF Australia. I promise I’ll somehow meet you guys again soon. And this time, be less awkward and hopefully more witty and funny.

Best. Night. Ever.

Much Love,

Angie

Leave a Reply

