The Weekend Beauty Haul

1.jpg

Hey guys! I hope you’re all having a good week. I’ve been having a rather interesting one. Not neccessarily the best because I fell sick and I feel horrible but it’s not the worst either. But that’s beside the point. I’m not here to lament about my week. I’m here for another haul!

Everything is linked if you want to check them out and they open in a new window or tab so you don’t have to worry about this post going away when you click on them.

I went to Priceline the other day and was slightly… overwhelmed… by the selection of brushes there. I’ve been hearing a lot about the Real Techniques (RT) brushes, obviously, having watched a lot of beauty vloggers such as Zoella and Tanya Burr and am really curious about them. So when I saw them at Priceline, I instantly knew I had to get them.

I mean, as you can clearly see, I bought other things as well but let’s talk about the brushes first, shall we?

RT brushes

So I picked up the RT Core Collection and Starter Set. They come in really nice cases, in my opinion, that are extremely handy when you are on the go, or even at home if you don’t have a proper place to store your brushes like me really, especially since you can stand them and you can also use them to dry brushes by putting them in upside down.

21

26

Generally, the RT brushes are really soft and just so nice to use. I really love how they apply the product, whatever it may be, and how they transfer most of the product (unlike some other brushes, particularly the cheap ones) and this minimises a lot of wastage, especially since makeup is so expensive anyway.

I will talk about the Core Collection set first, since I’ve used that more often.

22
From left to right: Contour brush, Pointed Foundation brush, Detailer brush, Buffing brush
23
Flip the brush names in the above image around and that’s the order

I haven’t used all of them equally, as in, I use some more than others, namly the buffing brush and the contour brush.

I have to say though. The buffing brush is really, really good. I use it to apply liquid foundation and it really blends the foundation into my skin so well and leaves such a natural look, which I really like, especially since my other brushes made it seem as if I just painted myself in beige paint or something.

I use the contour brush a lot too as contouring is part of my everyday makeup routing and I also really love it. I love the shape of the brush and how it applies the contour onto my face. I’ve tried it on both cream and powder contour. It definitely works best with powder but it does work with cream as well, though it doesn’t pick up the product as easily. It takes a few swipes to get a decent amount of cream on the brush but it works pretty well too so don’t let that put you off this brush.

I don’t use the pointed foundation and detailer brushes as much but when I do, I use them for blending my concealer. I don’t particularly like using them as much at the moment, probably because I haven’t found the right things to use them for. But honestly, I think this set is worth it, even if it’s just for the buffing brush (as, if I’m not mistaken, it’s exclusive to this set), because that is honestly one of the best foundation brushes I’ve used though I haven’t used that many yet.

19
From left to right: Deluxe Crease brush, Base Shadow brush, Brow brush, Accent brush, Fine Liner brush
20
From left to right: Brow brush, Base Shadow brush, Fine Liner brush, Deluxe Crease brush, Accent brush

Unfortunately, I have not been using these very much as I hadn’t had time to do my eyes a lot recently so I won’t say too much but I will say that the few times I’ve used it (‘it’ being the base shadow and deluxe crease brushes) has been amazing. Once again, I really love how they apply the shadow on my eyes and how nice and easy they are to use.

14.jpg
From left to right: EcoTools Powder brush, RT Retractable Kabuki brush

So the next two are the EcoTools Powder Brush and the RT Retractable Kabuki Brush. I’m not too sure how I feel about the EcoTools brush yet so I won’t talk about that as I’m still learning how to use powder and everything (give me a break; I only started seriously using makeup this year) but the RT kabuki brush is really nice to use. I use it mostly for blush and bronzer and I really love how it picks up just the right amount of powder and not too much nor too little and it really gives a really natural look (and I don’t look like a clown or too ‘bronzed’ or anything).

Also, I love how we can store it so nicely and easily. It’s really convenient to carry around because of the retractive mechanism, that is quite different from most. There is a cap to protect the bristles and I really love that about this brush.

10

I also bought the RT Brush Cleansing Gel that I have yet to use. So I literally cannot say anything about it because I have yet to clean my brushes which I really should.

2
I’ve also bought the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer in 010 Ivory (yes I am very pale) as I’m desperate for another concealer with better coverage. While the stick concealer I bought a while ago (Rimmel Hide the Blemish concealer, if any of you were wondering) is quite okay to use, it doesn’t last very long, which can be a problem for people like me who tend to forget to check their makeup, especially in school, where I spend about 6-7 hours at.

So far, I’m quite liking how long it lasts and how easy it is to blend and the coverage as well, though I haven’t been using it as much as I should I’m still using the Hide the Blemish stick concealer because, out of habit, I want to finish that before starting this.

But the few times I have used this product, I really do like it. I’m excited to use it more. I just need to constantly remind myself to do so.

3Another thing I bought was the L’Oreal Super Liner Perfect Slim Eyeliner in Intense Black as my Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing Liner is running out.

4

5

I really love the sharp tip of this and it’s really, really smooth. Once again, I have yet to use this as my Mabelline liner (which I bought back in Malaysia and I absolutely love but unfortunately, couldn’t find it here) but I have tested it out and it’s great so far.

6

7

I’ve also bought the NYX Liquid Suede cream lipstick in 07 Sandstorm. It’s a nude lip product and it’s absolutely gorgeous. I bought it as I saw Zoe (aka Zoella) use it and I fell in love with the colour and I had to get it. Unfortunately, it was out of stock for a while but I finally managed to get my hands on it!

Speaking of Zoe Sugg…

12.jpg

Her Zoella beauty classic range is finally in Target Australia!

Being a huge Zoella fan, I knew I had to buy them. I wanted to buy more but I was already broke from TATINOF but I didn’t want to spend too much as they weren’t exactly cheap (you’ll understand if you’re a student studying abroad) so I had to limit myself to just these.

I have yet to use the Creamy Madly Dreamy body lotion as I have way too many body lotions at the moment but it smells amazing and I’m sure it’ll be great.

I’m using the Blissful Mistful fragrance quite a bit and once again, I really love the smell. I’m really b11.jpgad at describing smells so pardon me. I found it quite strong at first but the more I used it, the more I like it. I use this almost daily now, but I do alternate this with some of my other perfumes.

I also bought the Blissful Mistful solid fragrance which has the same smell. You just rub it onto your skin instead of spraying it. I find it really convenient as you can bring this around and use it throughout the day and since it has the same smell as the perfume, there won’t be too many different smells on you. It’s just so handy and great.

9
Back of the Favourite Things beauty bag

I really really love the Favourite Things beauty bag. I love the size (it’s not too big nor too small) and I love the design of the bag. I currently use it to store my everyday makeup as I don’t have a proper storage for all of them (yet) but I think once I do, I’ll probably use this to keep my makeup and brushes while travelling. It’s slim and really easy to bring around and doesn’t take that much space.

8

I’ve also bought the Essie Grow Stronger Fortifying Growth Base Coat as I was in desperate need of a new base coat as my old one is running out. Alas, it has not run out yet so I have yet to use the Essie base coat, but I’m sure it’ll be great.

I also picked up the Revlon Compact Emery Boards, which are basically nail files. There are only two pictured above but it comes in a pack of 10. Once again, I have yet to use this as I’ve been too busy to do my nails recently so I can’t really say much.

And that’s it for this haul!

Fun fact: This post is actually two weeks overdue as I keep procrastinating but I’ve finally come around to writing this when I have to study for a maths test.

Once again, I’ve linked all the products I’ve mentioned above so you can go check them out if you want to.

I really hope you enjoyed reading this. I’ll be talking about the RT brushes (though I said pretty much the same thing as I did here. But I did – I hope – show the brushes more there so yeah) , among others, in my August Favourites video which will be up soon. I’ll link to it below when it’s up.

Bye!

Til next time.

Much love,

Angie

Leave a Reply

