August ’16 Wishes

Banner thing.jpg

Hey guys!

Remember when I mentioned I would do this?

…….

Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to complete most of my wishes this month because this month has just been a crazy month, especially with school, but nevertheless, I thought I would blog about it since you all are my accountability buddies.

Enough about that. Let’s get into it!

 

BOOKS

Read at 5 books

I didn’t manage to finisgh reading 5 books but don’t worry, I did read in August. It’d be impossible for me not to.

I read 3 1/2 books: Girl Online: On Tour by Zoe Sugg, Dream House by Marzia Bisognin, Coraline by Neil Gaiman and I’m halfway through Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard.

I’ll try to write a full review for those books soon, to which I will link them here once I have, but for now, I will my brief opinions on the books. I promise I won’t add any spoilers.

Girl Online

I read Girl Online in July when I was back home for the holidays long overdue, I know and I fell in love with Penny and Noah and just the message and feel of the book and so, I picked up the second book.

No regrets.

And then I read Girl Online: On Tour and it is honestly so, so good. And I’m not just saying that because I’m a fan of Zoe. I actually prefer the second book to the first book.

I find that the second book has a lot more depth and it touches a lot more themes than the first book. I love the character development in the second book and how the story unfolds and everything you learn from it. It’s very relatable, especially in our heavily media driven age.

If you’re into teen fic or just would like a light book to read before you go to bed, I highly recommend this.

{83D8B2AA-6C96-4F0F-83F5-20ECCC0FDC32}Img400.jpg

This is a darker book, and also a shorter one, but it’s still a good read.

It’s a paranormal horror book, though it’s not Stephen King level scary I say that as though I’ve read a Stephen King book before. Which I haven’t. In case you’re wondering. It’s written in very simple English, which is honestly quite refreshing, especially in today’s selection of books in the library.

I really love the mystery surrounding everything in the book. I love how the plot slowly reveals things that slowly pieces everything that’s happening in the book together and the way all the loose ends tie up in the end is honestly amazing.

Coraline.jpg

I know this is meant to be a kids book but I decided to buy it anyway because I’ve always been meaning to read this, especially after the movie which I’ve only watched parts of, mind you.

It’s a very, very dark and disturbing story. There are so many elements in this that are, in my opinion, not suitable for young kids. But nevertheless, it’s a really interesting book. The story is very captivating and engaging.

12586729305374.png

Okay, so I have no right to give any sort of review to this yet as I haven’t read the book finish yet, but so far, I’m seriously loving this. I really love how this is not centred around romance but around platonic friendship instead, and how best friends can affect you as much as a lover.

 

HOBBY

Update Paper Hearts weekly

So, I failed at this quite badly. I tried, I really did, but school just got the better of me.

Unfortunately, I only updated once in August. I’ll try to write more in September though, I promise.

And this time, it’s not going to be an empty promise. Hold me to this.

 

SELF

Unwind before bed every night

I won’t say I succeeded in fulfilling this goal, but I didn’t entirely fail either.

I did spend quite a number of nights before bed reading and being completely tech free, surrounded by books, words and my overthinking mind.

And besides the occassional dark thought, it’s actually quite liberating. I love the quiet and just being with myself and sort of living in the moment and enjoying life as it is and without gadgets that we have come to rely on.

I’m going to try and make this a thing. I’m not sure how much I will succeed. Perhaps I will broaden this to playing games as well. Just as long as I’m disconnected and off the Internet.

It’s scary, yes, the idea that you are disconnected from the almight Internet that emphasises so much on connectedness but, really, you should try it sometimes. It’s nice. Though I can’t do it for long or I’ll have withdrawal syndromes

 

ADVENTURE

Go to Westfield Marion 

Yes, this wish is rather specific.

I’ve heard of ‘Marion Shopping Centre’ for a while now but I’ve never dared to venture there as it requires taking the bus (which I’m quite afraid of, for some reason, especially if I’m taking the bus alone) and it’s quite far from where I stay.

But I decided that this (or rather, last) month, I will go.

And I did. Though I did cheat a little and went at the end of July, after my exams.

IMG_5907.jpg

Here’s a failed selfie of me on the bus because I couldn’t, for the life of me, get a good shot of the road on the way to the shopping centre.

IMG_5924.jpg

IMG_5926.jpg

I got there around noontime so the first thing on my agenda was to get some food in my stomach because I was starving.

I went to this nice cafè called Spargo’s for lunch and I had some chocolate shake and a chicken caesar fociacca. The shake was a bit too thick but it was still good. So was the fociacca.

IMG_5928.jpgI spent the rest of the day walking around and doing a lot of both shopping and window shopping and basically just having some nice me time and unwind time after a surprisingly stressful exam.

IMG_5936.jpg
Lowkey want those Pokèmon badges

img_5948

img_5947
Trying out a playsuit. That I didn’t end up buying. Kinda regretting it now tbh

And, of course, I forgot to take a picture of the small but extremely awesome youtubers books-filled bookstore there. I was probably too entranced by the selection of books that it completely slipped my mind.

I had a really great time and I’ll probably be coming back here some time in the future, even if it is a 45 minute bus ride.

I did a blog post about the stuff I bought while on this little adventure (along with a couple other stuff I bought over that long-ish weekend) so you can go check it out over here if you’re curious.

 

And so that’s it for my August wishes.

I’m going to put this ‘project’, so to speak, on hold for now and revisit it next year because I’m taking a year off from school so this would be a very interesting and fun thing to do.

And also because I’m reaching the end of college and getting ridiculously busy and all the free, non-test or assignment days I have, I want to spend writing, doing YouTube stuff or just chilling in general.

Regardless, I hope you enjoyed this narration of my failed August 2016 wishes.

Have a great day and I’ll see you again soon.

Til next time.

Much love,

Angie

3 thoughts on “August ’16 Wishes

  1. Pingback: The Huge Online Haul – Chances, Dreams and Fireflies

Leave a Reply

