Go For It

whatsapp-image-2016-10-14-at-8-51-49-pm

“If you can’t believe in miracles, then believe in yourself. When you want something bad enough, let that drive push you to make it happen. Sometimes you’ll run into brick walls that are put there to test you. Find a way around them and stay focused on your dream. Where there’s a will, there’s a way.” – Isabel Lopez

So, I was watching Dan and Phil’s literally only added this front part cause it’s weird not mentioning Phil in this #fangirlmode #DAPGOOSE on danisnotonfire’s channel and, while most of it are just a lot of bants and inside jokes, the last 10 minutes of the Q&A really inspired me.

In short, they started talking about how doing YouTube started off as a hobby and they never thought their life would turn out the way it did. And it really got me thinking about a lot things and just gave me so much inspiration and made me so grateful for everything that I have.

Let me take a step back and explain what I mean.

On the 19th of December 2011, I decided to make a Wattpad account. I distinctly remember that one day. I was visiting my relatives and I was lying on the couch with the crappy laptop I had, wondering if I should take the leap and join Wattpad, a weird online writing platform that my friend introduced to me (even though, funnily enough, I’ve been reading on Wattpad even before that but I didn’t know what it was called) and I went all “screw it. I’ll just do it”, especially since, by then, I’d already discovered my love for writing.

So I signed up for a Wattpad account and the rest is history.

So to speak.

I posted my first story on Wattpad shortly after signing up (though it’s since been taken down because I find it so cringeworthy) and shortly after, a novel called Under the Gray Willow Tree (#spon) and even though it’s taking me forever to edit this because I also find it very cringeworthy, I’m rather proud of this mainly because this is my first proper novel (80k words!) and also because it was a finalist in the 2012 Wattys, which I’m incredibly humbled by especially since I find it so bad now. But then again, we are our own worst critic.

I’d tell you more but I don’t think there’s much to say. I started writing more and over time, started to fall more and more in love with writing.

Wattpad has changed my life in ways I never imagined it would.

I mean, it’s still a long way for Wattpad writers to make a living out of it, if ever (that is, if Wattpad plans to do so in the near future Wattpad, if you see this, please do it. That’d be awesome), but it has definitely shaped me and helped me be the person I am today.

I’ve pushed myself in a lot of ways because of Wattpad. I never imagined I would ever get the opportunity to share my works and what more say be a published author. Because of Wattpad, I am able to let others read the things I write. Because of Wattpad, I get to talk to fellow writers and know that I’m not alone. Because of Wattpad, I push myself to write more and more and to improve myself. Because of Wattpad, I found the Polyethnic Publishing and am signed to them, with my book Voices (#spon again) coming out soon in actual bookstores.

It’s crazy. And I’m so humbled and grateful for that.

It’s made me more comfortable with sharing my creative works, with trying new things. It’s made me confident enough to even try starting a  Youtube channel (another #spon), which I absolutely love doing now, even if it is kinda slow.

I have hundreds and thousands of reads on my books, and over 1,000 followers on Wattpad. Never in my wildest dreams (Taylor Swift reference anybody?) would I imagine that I’d be here today.

If you went back and told 10-year-old Angie – heck, if you went back and told 14-year-old Angie – that I’d be here today, a soon-to-be published author, having so many people read (and hopefully enjoy) the things I write and having a YouTube channel, I’d never believe you. These are things that I would never have done, even just a couple years ago.

I don’t want to brag – I really don’t – so please don’t take this post as a bragging fest. I’m just so so grateful and humbled by everything Wattpad has given me. It’s helped me meet so many great people, even one of my best friends today. It’s given me so many opportunities that I never would’ve imagined. It’s made me the person I am today and I’m so thankful for that.

If you’re wondering what in the world the picture I added to the beginning of the post has anything to do with the rest of the post, here’s why.

That is a picture I took on a flight recently. It was a night flight and I can never sleep on planes to save my life so I stayed up for most of the night doing other things and I looked out the window and saw the sun starting to rise. Now, I’ve seen the sunset countless times before but I’ve never seen the sunrise, because, well, it’s just too early for me.

It’s such a sight to behold, and it gave me hope, in a way.

I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I suffer from anxiety and, to a certain degree, depression, but this sight reminded me that it’s darkest before dawn. That even though the night seems to drag on for ages, the sun will rise again, and it’ll be beautiful.

And I know this has been said so many times by so many people, but never give up. Never stop chasing after your dreams no matter how hard or impossible it seems because most of the time, it’s the people who try and try again who succeed. Just go for it. Do what you love. And most importantly, be yourself.

Like Matthew (aka Matpat from Game and Film Theory) said in his VidCon keynote speech, you’re not going to be the next PewDiePie or Markiplier because that’s spot’s already taken. You’re going to bring to the table what no one else has to offer and that’s going to be what makes you go far, no matter how hard it seems.

You do you.

Choose happiness. Because that’s what’s important.

And never forget that.

Much love,

Angie

One thought on “Go For It

  1. Pingback: #TeamInternet – Chances, Dreams and Fireflies

Leave a Reply

