Kimi no Na Wa (Your Name)

77484l

Warning: The following content may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk. You have been warned.

Title: Your Name. || 君の名は。(Kimi no Na Wa.)

Release Date: 26 August 2016

Rating: PG-13

Genre: Drama, Supernatural, Romance

Director: Makato Shinkai

Running Time: 106 minutes

Summary: Mitsuha Miyamizu, a high school girl, yearns to live the life of a boy in the bustling city of Tokyo—a dream that stands in stark contrast to her present life in the countryside. Meanwhile in the city, Taki Tachibana lives a busy life as a high school student while juggling his part-time job and hopes for a future in architecture.

One day, Mitsuha awakens in a room that is not her own and suddenly finds herself living the dream life in Tokyo—but in Taki’s body! Elsewhere, Taki finds himself living Mitsuha’s life in the humble countryside. In pursuit of an answer to this strange phenomenon, they begin to search for one another.

Kimi no Na wa. revolves around Mitsuha and Taki’s actions, which begin to have a dramatic impact on each other’s lives, weaving them into a fabric held together by fate and circumstance.

Quote: I’m always searching for something, for someone. This feeling has possessed me I think, from that day… That day when the stars came falling.

Review: Absolutely. Amazing.

I have no words to describe how beautiful this movie is but nevertheless, I will try.

So, I heard about this movie some time back in September when it was first released and I’ve been wanting to watch it since and it finally aired in Malaysia so, of course, I went to watch it.

And, oh man, I wasn’t disappointed at all.

This is such a great movie. I absolutely loved it. I’ll admit, the first half of the movie was quite slow moving and very typical but it really picked up the pace in the second half and it became just a whole bunch of feels.

It’s one of those movies where, after you finish, you don’t know what else to do with your life. You know it’s a good movie (or book) when it makes you feel that.

It really is very beautiful though. It gives a whole new meaning to searching for something and to dedication and motivation. It’s just so beautiful. I really don’t want to spoil it but I can’t talk about it without spoiling it so I’ll give a spoiler warning. If you haven’t watched it, please try to avoid the spoilers as it’s much more impactful and beautiful if you watch it blind.

[SPOILERS AHEAD]

Ok, in my opinion, things started picking up after Taki-kun found out that Itomori was destroyed by the comet. The whole time I thought it was just going to be like any other Shoujo anime but it really picked up the pace from there for me.

I love that the characters are from a different time and it absolutely killed me when Taki-kun found out that Mitsuha-chan had died in the comet. And when he went to the shrine to try to save her, oh man, my heart broke. There were so much feels and it’s so beautiful, really, how much he cares about her, and of everyone he’s met through her (literally).

I just found it so authentic and raw and beautiful. It’s the kind of love our world could use more of.

Also, when Taki-kun and Mitsuha-chan were both on the mountain and they could hear each other but not see each other? Yeah, that completely obliterated me. I was so shattered and distressed (in a good way) and, honestly, it’s such a great twist. Also when they didn’t manage to finish writing their names on each other. And when they forgot about each other. That killed me too.

The ending was absolutely beautiful too. It was so heartbreaking to see them cross paths so many times but not recognise each other. I was also extremely delighted when Taki-kun called her out by the stairs. So much feels man.

[SPOILER SECTION FINISHED]

I also feel l like this story gave a new meaning to the old saying: if it’s meant to be, it will happen (and variations of this). I literally have no words to describe how amazing the storyline is.

The music is also amazing. It’s closing in on Ghibli soundtrack level, which is astounding if you think about it since Ghibli produces one of the best OSTs ever (in my opinion). I’ve been listening to the album on repeat ever since I left the cinema.

It is a great movie. No words can ever do it justice.

Rating: 11/10, if I could.

Recommended for: Anyone who wants a good romance movie. Also to anyone who just loves anime in general though, the Japan culture in this video is kind of heavy (RIP English) so if you’re new to anime, manga or just Japan culture in general, it might not be as impactful, but it’s still a great movie anyway and you should watch it if you can.

Leave a Reply

