Dare to Dream Big

original

I’ve once heard this saying: If your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough. And it resonated with me a lot.

You see, even though I have second thoughts on a lot of things, even though I doubt my abilities and tend to hide my passions from the world, I am a huge dreamer.

I constantly switch between thinking I’m at the top of the world and thinking that my world is falling apart but the one thing that remains constant, that grounds me, that keeps me from floating away, is how much hope I have that my dreams will come through someday.

But your dreams and ambitions aren’t things that will unfold on their own. You need to take that first step. Do it one step at a time. It doesn’t matter how many steps it take. It may seem like there’s a huge mountain ahead of you, but don’t see it that way.

Just one more. Repeat it to yourself everyday. Just one more. One more page written, one more note played, one more drawing coloured, one more word learned. You don’t have to climb the whole mountain all at once. You just need to take it one step at a time.

But I think one of the most important thing to remember when chasing your dream is to keep striving to get better. It doesn’t matter how highly other people regard you, or whether society thinks that you’re the best in the world. You’ve always got to strive to get better. To keep moving forward.

If you ever think that it’s too difficult a journey to go on, always look back, and see how far you’ve come. Look around, and see how many people have supported you and helped you come to where you are. Don’t let their – and your own – effort go to waste. Keep taking that one step forward.

And eventually, you’ll get there. You’ll get to the place you’ve always wanted to be in and you will wonder why you ever wanted to give up in the first place.

Always believe in yourself. And dare to dream big.

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao Tzu

Much love,
Angie

PS. I thought this would be a nice post to celebrate 40 followers with. 40! That’s insane. Thank you so much for listening to all my depressing rants and sticking with me until now. I’ll try to diversify my posts a little more, and I hope you understand that this blog is like a diary to me, so thank you for only spreading positivity on here. Thank you~

Leave a Reply

